Season #132
2020-21
Games #5589-#5630

 

 2020-21 Club Summary

Manager
Chairman
Chief Executive
Sporting Director
Mark Delaney
Nassef Sawiris (Chairman, Owner), Wes Edens (Owner)
Christian Purslow
Johan Lange
Dean Smith
Nassef Sawiris (Chairman, Owner), Wes Edens (Owner)
Christian Purslow
Johan Lange

 2020-21 Season Summary

League
Position
FA Cup Progress
League Cup Progress
Biggest Win
Premier League
3rd Round
4th Round
7-2 vs. Liverpool (h), Premier League
 
 

 

 2020-21 Premier League Table

Pos
Club
P
W
D
L
F
A
GD
Pts
1
Manchester City
38
27
5
6
83
32
51
86
2
Manchester United
38
21
11
6
73
44
29
74
3
Liverpool
38
20
9
9
68
42
26
69
4
Chelsea
38
19
10
9
58
36
22
67
5
Leicester City
38
20
6
12
68
50
18
66
6
West Ham United
38
19
8
11
62
47
15
65
7
Tottenham Hotspur
38
18
8
12
68
45
23
62
8
Arsenal
38
18
7
13
55
39
16
61
9
Leeds United
38
18
5
15
62
54
8
59
10
Everton
38
17
8
13
47
48
−1
59
11
Aston Villa
38
16
7
15
55
46
9
55
12
Newcastle United
38
12
9
17
46
62
−16
45
13
Wolverhampton Wanderers
38
12
9
17
36
52
−16
45
14
Crystal Palace
38
12
8
18
41
66
−25
44
15
Southampton
38
12
7
19
47
68
−21
43
16
Brighton & Hove Albion
38
9
14
15
40
46
−6
41
17
Burnley
38
10
9
19
33
55
−22
39
18
Fulham
38
5
13
20
27
53
−26
28
19
West Bromwich Albion
38
5
11
22
35
76
−41
26
20
Sheffield United
38
7
2
29
20
63
−43
23
 

 

 2020-21 Matches

Select a row for detailed match reports

 
Game #5589
#1
Tuesday, 15 September 2020
EFL Cup 2nd Round
Away
Burton Albion
Won
3-1
The Pirelli Stadium
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5590
#2
Monday, 21 September 2020
Premier League
Home
Sheffield United
Won
1-0
Villa Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5591
#3
Thursday, 24 September 2020
EFL Cup 3rd Round
Away
Bristol City
Won
3-0
Ashton Gate
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5592
#4
Monday, 28 September 2020
Premier League
Away
Fulham
Won
3-0
Craven Cottage
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5593
#5
Thursday, 1 October 2020
EFL Cup 4th Round
Home
Stoke
Lost
0-1
Villa Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5594
#6
Sunday, 4 October 2020
Premier League
Home
Liverpool
Won
7-2
Villa Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5595
#7
Sunday, 18 October 2020
Premier League
Away
Leicester City
Won
1-0
King Power Stadium
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5596
#8
Friday, 23 October 2020
Premier League
Home
Leeds United
Lost
0-3
Villa Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5597
#9
Sunday, 1 November 2020
Premier League
Home
Southampton
Lost
3-4
Villa Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5598
#10
Sunday, 8 November 2020
Premier League
Away
Arsenal
Won
3-0
Emirates Stadium
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5599
#11
Saturday, 21 November 2020
Premier League
Home
Brighton & Hove Albion
Lost
1-2
Villa Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5600
#12
Monday, 30 November 2020
Premier League
Away
West Ham United
Lost
1-2
London Stadium
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5601
#13
Saturday, 12 December 2020
Premier League
Away
Wolverhampton Wanderers
Won
1-0
Molineux
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5602
#14
Thursday, 17 December 2020
Premier League
Home
Burnley
Drew
0-0
Villa Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5603
#15
Sunday, 20 December 2020
Premier League
Away
West Bromwich Albion
Won
3-0
The Hawthorns
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5604
#16
Saturday, 26 December 2020
Premier League
Home
Crystal Palace
Won
3-0
Villa Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5605
#17
Monday, 28 December 2020
Premier League
Away
Chelsea
Drew
1-1
Stamford Bridge
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5606
#18
Friday, 1 January 2021
Premier League
Away
Manchester United
Lost
1-2
Old Trafford
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5607
#19
Friday, 8 January 2021
FA Cup 3rd Round
Home
Liverpool
Lost
1-4
Villa Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Mark Delaney
Game #5608
#20
Wednesday, 20 January 2021
Premier League
Away
Manchester City
Lost
0-2
Etihad Stadium
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5609
#21
Saturday, 23 January 2021
Premier League
Home
Newcastle United
Won
2-0
Villa Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5610
#22
Wednesday, 27 January 2021
Premier League
Away
Burnley
Lost
2-3
Turf Moor
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5611
#23
Saturday, 30 January 2021
Premier League
Away
Southampton
Won
1-0
St Mary's Stadium
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5612
#24
Wednesday, 3 February 2021
Premier League
Home
West Ham United
Lost
1-3
Villa Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5613
#25
Saturday, 6 February 2021
Premier League
Home
Arsenal
Won
1-0
Villa Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5614
#26
Saturday, 13 February 2021
Premier League
Away
Brighton & Hove Albion
Drew
0-0
AMEX Stadium
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5615
#27
Sunday, 21 February 2021
Premier League
Home
Leicester City
Lost
1-2
Villa Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5616
#28
Saturday, 27 February 2021
Premier League
Away
Leeds United
Won
1-0
Elland Road
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5617
#29
Wednesday, 3 March 2021
Premier League
Away
Sheffield United
Lost
0-1
Bramall Lane
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5618
#30
Saturday, 6 March 2021
Premier League
Home
Wolverhampton Wanderers
Drew
0-0
Villa Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5619
#31
Friday, 12 March 2021
Premier League
Away
Newcastle United
Drew
1-1
St James' Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5620
#32
Sunday, 21 March 2021
Premier League
Home
Tottenham Hotspur
Lost
0-2
Villa Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5621
#33
Sunday, 4 April 2021
Premier League
Home
Fulham
Won
3-1
Villa Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5622
#34
Saturday, 10 April 2021
Premier League
Away
Liverpool
Lost
1-2
Anfield
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5623
#35
Wednesday, 21 April 2021
Premier League
Home
Manchester City
Lost
1-2
Villa Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5624
#36
Sunday, 25 April 2021
Premier League
Home
West Bromwich Albion
Drew
2-2
Villa Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5625
#37
Saturday, 1 May 2021
Premier League
Away
Everton
Won
2-1
Goodison Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5626
#38
Sunday, 9 May 2021
Premier League
Home
Manchester United
Lost
1-3
Villa Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5627
#39
Thursday, 13 May 2021
Premier League
Home
Everton
Drew
0-0
Villa Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5628
#40
Sunday, 16 May 2021
Premier League
Away
Crystal Palace
Lost
2-3
Selhurst Park
Attendance: Behind closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5629
#41
Wednesday, 19 May 2021
Premier League
Away
Tottenham Hotspur
Won
2-1
Tottenham Hotspur Stadium
Attendance: Partial closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith
Game #5630
#42
Sunday, 23 May 2021
Premier League
Home
Chelsea
Won
2-1
Villa Park
Attendance: Partial closed doors (COVID-19)
Dean Smith

 2020-21 Season Statistics

Results

Games
Won
Drew
Lost
Unbeaten
Win Rate
Loss Rate
Unbeaten Rate
42
18
7
17
25
43%
40%
60%
 

Goals

Goals Scored
Goals Conceded
Goal Difference
Clean Sheets
Clean Sheet %
Goals per Game
Conceded per Game
Goal Ratio
62
52
10
16
38%
1.48
1.24
1.19

Runs

Longest winning run
Longest League winning run
Longest unbeaten run
Games without a win
Longest losing run
4
2
5
4
3

 2020-21 Transfers In

1 July 2020 - 30 June 2021 

Player
Number
Position
Joined
Age
From
Fee
Ben Chrisene
Player #962
Midfielder
Wednesday, 19 August 2020
Exeter City
Free
Lamare Bogarde
Player #958
Centre Back
Tuesday, 1 September 2020
Feyenoord
Free
Ross Barkley
Player #954
Midfielder
Wednesday, 30 September 2020
Chelsea
Loan
Bertrand Traoré
Player #953
Winger
Saturday, 19 September 2020
Olympique Lyonnais
£16,560,000
Matty Cash
Player #952
Right Back
Thursday, 3 September 2020
Nottingham Forest
£14,180,000
Emiliano Martínez
Player #951
Goalkeeper
Wednesday, 16 September 2020
Arsenal
£19,580,000
Ollie Watkins
Player #950
Centre Forward
Wednesday, 9 September 2020
Brentford
£27,720,000
Oliwer Zych
Unused Substitute
Goalkeeper
Sunday, 16 August 2020
Zagłębie Lubin
Free
Frankie Ealing
Unused Substitute
Defender
Wednesday, 1 July 2020
Youth Team
Free
Morgan Sanson
Player #971
Midfielder
Tuesday, 26 January 2021
Olympique Marseille
£14,220,000
Sil Swinkels
Player #969
Defender
Monday, 3 August 2020
Vitesse Arnheim
Free
Harrison Sohna
Player #967
Midfielder
Wednesday, 1 July 2020
Youth Team
Free
 

 2020-21 Transfers Out

1 July 2020 - 30 June 2021 

Player
Number
Position
Left
Age
Sold To
Sold Fee
Neil Taylor
Player #909
Left Back
Wednesday, 30 June 2021
Unattached
Released
Scott Hogan
Player #908
Forward
Wednesday, 16 September 2020
Birmingham City
£2,490,000
James Bree
Player #907
Right Back
Tuesday, 1 September 2020
Luton Town
Undisclosed
Henri Lansbury
Player #904
Midfielder
Friday, 29 January 2021
Bristol City
Free
James Chester
Player #897
Centre Back
Monday, 10 August 2020
Stoke City
Free
André Green
Player #891
Winger
Saturday, 1 August 2020
Unattached
Released
Rushian Hepburn-Murphy
Player #879
Forward
Wednesday, 15 July 2020
Pafos FC
Free
Callum Rowe
Player #961
Left Back
Monday, 31 May 2021
Unattached
Released
Jake Walker
Player #960
Right Back
Monday, 31 May 2021
Unattached
Released
Ross Barkley
Player #954
Midfielder
Monday, 31 May 2021
Chelsea
End of Loan
Borja Bastón
Player #949
Centre Forward
Sunday, 6 September 2020
CD Leganés
Free
Mbwana Samatta
Player #948
Centre Forward
Wednesday, 30 June 2021
Fenerbahçe S.K.
£5,400,000
Jota Peleteiro
Player #938
Winger
Sunday, 4 October 2020
Deportivo Alavés
Free
Björn Engels
Player #935
Centre Back
Wednesday, 30 June 2021
Royal Antwerp FC
Undisclosed
Tom Heaton
Player #934
Goalkeeper
Wednesday, 30 June 2021
Manchester United
Free
Lovre Kalinić
Player #929
Goalkeeper
Monday, 31 May 2021
Ørjan Nyland
Player #923
Goalkeeper
Thursday, 1 October 2020
Unattached
Released
Callum O'Hare
Player #916
Forward
Wednesday, 15 July 2020
Coventry City
Free
Ahmed Elmohamady
Player #915
Right Back
Wednesday, 30 June 2021
Unattached
Released
Michael Tait
Unused Substitute
Midfielder
Monday, 31 May 2021
Unattached
Released
Matija Šarkić
Unused Substitute
Goalkeeper
Monday, 27 July 2020
Wolverhampton Wanderers
Free
Harrison Sohna
Player #967
Midfielder
Monday, 31 May 2021
Unattached
Released
 

 2020-21 Debut Appearances

Player
Number
Against
On
Aged
Ollie Watkins
Player #950
Burton Albion (a), EFL Cup
Tuesday, 15 September 2020
Emiliano Martínez
Player #951
Sheffield United (h), Premier League
Monday, 21 September 2020
Matty Cash
Player #952
Sheffield United (h), Premier League
Monday, 21 September 2020
Bertrand Traoré
Player #953
Bristol City (a), EFL Cup
Thursday, 24 September 2020
Ross Barkley
Player #954
Liverpool (h), Premier League
Sunday, 4 October 2020
Ákos Ónodi
Player #955
Liverpool (h), FA Cup
Friday, 8 January 2021
Dominic Revan
Player #956
Liverpool (h), FA Cup
Friday, 8 January 2021
Mungo Bridge
Player #957
Liverpool (h), FA Cup
Friday, 8 January 2021
Lamare Bogarde
Player #958
Liverpool (h), FA Cup
Friday, 8 January 2021
Kaine Hayden
Player #959
Liverpool (h), FA Cup
Friday, 8 January 2021
Jake Walker
Player #960
Liverpool (h), FA Cup
Friday, 8 January 2021
Callum Rowe
Player #961
Liverpool (h), FA Cup
Friday, 8 January 2021