Season #130
2018-19
Games #5491-#5542

 

 2018-19 Club Summary

Manager
Chairman
Chief Executive
Kevin MacDonald
Nassef Sawiris (Chairman, Owner), Wes Edens (Owner)
Christian Purslow
Dean Smith
Nassef Sawiris (Chairman, Owner), Wes Edens (Owner)
Christian Purslow
Steve Bruce
Nassef Sawiris (Chairman, Owner), Wes Edens (Owner)
Christian Purslow

 2018-19 Season Summary

League
Position
FA Cup Progress
League Cup Progress
Biggest Win
Championship
3rd Round
3rd Round
4-0 vs. Derby County (h), Championship
Top Scorer
Most Appearances
26 | Tammy Abraham
48 | Conor Hourihane

 

 2018-19 Championship Table

Pos
Club
P
W
D
L
F
A
GD
Pts
1
Norwich City
46
27
13
6
93
57
36
94
2
Sheffield United
46
26
11
9
78
41
37
89
3
Leeds United
46
25
8
13
73
50
23
83
4
West Bromwich Albion
46
23
11
12
87
62
25
80
5
Aston Villa
46
20
16
10
82
61
21
76
6
Derby County
46
20
14
12
69
54
15
74
7
Middlesbrough
46
20
13
13
49
41
8
73
8
Bristol City
46
19
13
14
59
53
6
70
9
Nottingham Forest
46
17
15
14
61
54
7
66
10
Swansea City
46
18
11
17
65
62
3
65
11
Brentford
46
17
13
16
73
59
14
64
12
Sheffield Wednesday
46
16
16
14
60
62
-2
64
13
Hull City
46
17
11
18
66
68
-2
62
14
Preston North End
46
16
13
17
67
67
0
61
15
Blackburn Rovers
46
16
12
18
64
69
-5
60
16
Stoke City
46
11
22
13
45
52
-7
55
17
Birmingham City
46
14
19
13
64
58
6
52
18
Wigan Athletic
46
13
13
20
51
64
-13
52
19
Queens Park Rangers
46
14
9
23
53
71
-18
51
20
Reading
46
10
17
19
49
66
-17
47
21
Millwall
46
10
14
22
48
64
-16
44
22
Rotherham United
46
8
16
22
52
83
-31
40
23
Bolton Wanderers
46
8
8
30
29
78
-49
32
24
Ipswich Town
46
5
16
25
36
77
-41
31

 

 2018-19 Fixtures

Select a row for detailed match reports

Game #5491
#1
Monday, 6 August 2018
Championship
Away
Hull City
Won
3-1
KC Stadium
Attendance: 14,071
Steve Bruce
Game #5492
#2
Saturday, 11 August 2018
Championship
Home
Wigan Athletic
Won
3-2
Villa Park
Attendance: 34,331
Steve Bruce
Game #5493
#3
Tuesday, 14 August 2018
EFL Cup 2nd Round
Away
Yeovil Town
Won
1-0
Huish Park
Attendance: 6,123
Steve Bruce
Game #5494
#4
Saturday, 18 August 2018
Championship
Away
Ipswich Town
Drew
1-1
Portman Road
Attendance: 17,824
Steve Bruce
Game #5495
#5
Wednesday, 22 August 2018
Championship
Home
Brentford
Drew
2-2
Villa Park
Attendance: 30,011
Steve Bruce
Game #5496
#6
Saturday, 25 August 2018
Championship
Home
Reading
Drew
1-1
Villa Park
Attendance: 33,405
Steve Bruce
Game #5497
#7
Tuesday, 28 August 2018
EFL Cup 3rd Round
Away
Burton Albion
Lost
0-1
Pirelli Stadium
Attendance: 3,411
Steve Bruce
Game #5498
#8
Saturday, 1 September 2018
Championship
Away
Sheffield United
Lost
1-4
Bramall Lane
Attendance: 26,030
Steve Bruce
Game #5499
#9
Saturday, 15 September 2018
Championship
Away
Blackburn Rovers
Drew
1-1
Ewood Park
Attendance: 15,982
Steve Bruce
Game #5500
#10
Tuesday, 18 September 2018
Championship
Home
Rotherham United
Won
2-0
Villa Park
Attendance: 27,991
Steve Bruce
Game #5501
#11
Saturday, 22 September 2018
Championship
Home
Sheffield Wednesday
Lost
1-2
Villa Park
Attendance: 35,572
Steve Bruce
Game #5502
#12
Friday, 28 September 2018
Championship
Away
Bristol City
Drew
1-1
Ashton Gate
Attendance: 24,224
Steve Bruce
Game #5503
#13
Tuesday, 2 October 2018
Championship
Home
Preston North End
Drew
3-3
Villa Park
Attendance: 27,331
Steve Bruce
Game #5504
#14
Saturday, 6 October 2018
Championship
Away
Millwall
Lost
1-2
New Den
Attendance: 14,491
Kevin MacDonald
Game #5505
#15
Saturday, 20 October 2018
Championship
Home
Swansea City
Won
1-0
Villa Park
Attendance: 41,326
Dean Smith
Game #5506
#16
Tuesday, 23 October 2018
Championship
Away
Norwich City
Lost
1-2
Carrow Road
Attendance: 24,977
Dean Smith
Game #5507
#17
Friday, 26 October 2018
Championship
Away
Queens Park Rangers
Lost
0-1
Loftus Road
Attendance: 16,036
Dean Smith
Game #5508
#18
Friday, 2 November 2018
Championship
Home
Bolton Wanderers
Won
2-0
Villa Park
Attendance: 30,802
Dean Smith
Game #5509
#19
Saturday, 10 November 2018
Championship
Away
Derby County
Won
3-0
Pride Park
Attendance: 30,400
Dean Smith
Game #5510
#20
Sunday, 25 November 2018
Championship
Home
Birmingham City
Won
4-2
Villa Park
Attendance: 41,200
Dean Smith
Game #5511
#21
Wednesday, 28 November 2018
Championship
Home
Nottingham Forest
Drew
5-5
Villa Park
Attendance: 32,868
Dean Smith
Game #5512
#22
Saturday, 1 December 2018
Championship
Away
Middlesbrough
Won
3-0
Riverside Stadium
Attendance: 23,424
Dean Smith
Game #5513
#23
Friday, 7 December 2018
Championship
Away
West Bromwich Albion
Drew
2-2
The Hawthorns
Attendance: 26,513
Dean Smith
Game #5514
#24
Saturday, 15 December 2018
Championship
Home
Stoke
Drew
2-2
Villa Park
Attendance: 36,999
Dean Smith
Game #5515
#25
Sunday, 23 December 2018
Championship
Home
Leeds United
Lost
2-3
Villa Park
Attendance: 41,411
Dean Smith
Game #5516
#26
Wednesday, 26 December 2018
Championship
Away
Swansea City
Won
1-0
Liberty Stadium
Attendance: 20,775
Dean Smith
Game #5517
#27
Saturday, 29 December 2018
Championship
Away
Preston North End
Drew
1-1
Deepdale
Attendance: 19,126
Dean Smith
Game #5518
#28
Tuesday, 1 January 2019
Championship
Home
Queens Park Rangers
Drew
2-2
Villa Park
Attendance: 37,760
Dean Smith
Game #5519
#29
Saturday, 5 January 2019
FA Cup 3rd Round
Home
Swansea City
Lost
0-3
Villa Park
Attendance: 30,572
Dean Smith
Game #5520
#30
Saturday, 12 January 2019
Championship
Away
Wigan Athletic
Lost
0-3
DW Stadium
Attendance: 13,882
Dean Smith
Game #5521
#31
Saturday, 19 January 2019
Championship
Home
Hull City
Drew
2-2
Villa Park
Attendance: 33,619
Dean Smith
Game #5522
#32
Saturday, 26 January 2019
Championship
Home
Ipswich Town
Won
2-1
Villa Park
Attendance: 33,653
Dean Smith
Game #5523
#33
Saturday, 2 February 2019
Championship
Away
Reading
Drew
0-0
Madjeski Stadium
Attendance: 17,458
Dean Smith
Game #5524
#34
Friday, 8 February 2019
Championship
Home
Sheffield United
Drew
3-3
Villa Park
Attendance: 34,892
Dean Smith
Game #5525
#35
Wednesday, 13 February 2019
Championship
Away
Brentford
Lost
0-1
Griffin Park
Attendance: 9,636
Dean Smith
Game #5526
#36
Saturday, 16 February 2019
Championship
Home
West Bromwich Albion
Lost
0-2
Villa Park
Attendance: 39,263
Dean Smith
Game #5527
#37
Saturday, 23 February 2019
Championship
Away
Stoke
Drew
1-1
Bet365 Stadium
Attendance: 27,975
Dean Smith
Game #5528
#38
Saturday, 2 March 2019
Championship
Home
Derby County
Won
4-0
Villa Park
Attendance: 37,273
Dean Smith
Game #5529
#39
Sunday, 10 March 2019
Championship
Away
Birmingham City
Won
1-0
St Andrew's
Attendance: 26,631
Dean Smith
Game #5530
#40
Wednesday, 13 March 2019
Championship
Away
Nottingham Forest
Won
3-1
City Ground
Attendance: 29,224
Dean Smith
Game #5531
#41
Saturday, 16 March 2019
Championship
Home
Middlesbrough
Won
3-0
Villa Park
Attendance: 36,263
Dean Smith
Game #5532
#42
Saturday, 30 March 2019
Championship
Home
Blackburn Rovers
Won
2-1
Villa Park
Attendance: 39,687
Dean Smith
Game #5533
#43
Saturday, 6 April 2019
Championship
Away
Sheffield Wednesday
Won
3-1
Hillsborough
Attendance: 29,458
Dean Smith
Game #5534
#44
Wednesday, 10 April 2019
Championship
Away
Rotherham United
Won
2-1
AESSEAL New York Stadium
Attendance: 10,558
Dean Smith
Game #5535
#45
Saturday, 13 April 2019
Championship
Home
Bristol City
Won
2-1
Villa Park
Attendance: 41,418
Dean Smith
Game #5536
#46
Friday, 19 April 2019
Championship
Away
Bolton Wanderers
Won
2-0
University of Bolton Stadium
Attendance: 17,344
Dean Smith
Game #5537
#47
Monday, 22 April 2019
Championship
Home
Millwall
Won
1-0
Villa Park
Attendance: 39,839
Dean Smith
Game #5538
#48
Sunday, 28 April 2019
Championship
Away
Leeds United
Drew
1-1
Elland Road
Attendance: 36,786
Dean Smith
Game #5539
#49
Sunday, 5 May 2019
Championship
Home
Norwich City
Lost
1-2
Villa Park
Attendance: 41,696
Dean Smith
Game #5540
#50
Saturday, 11 May 2019
Championship Play Off Semi Final 1st Leg
Home
West Bromwich Albion
Won
2-1
Villa Park
Attendance: 40,754
Dean Smith
Game #5541
#51
Tuesday, 14 May 2019
Championship Play Off Semi Final 2nd Leg
Away
West Bromwich Albion
Lost
0-1
The Hawthorns
Attendance: 25,702
Dean Smith
Game #5542
#52
Monday, 27 May 2019
Championship Play Off Final
Neutral
Derby County
Won
2-1
Wembley Stadium, London
Attendance: 85,826
Dean Smith

 2018-19 Season Statistics

Results

Games
Won
Drew
Lost
Unbeaten
Win Rate
Loss Rate
Unbeaten Rate
52
23
16
13
39
44%
25%
75%

Goals

Goals Scored
Goals Conceded
Goal Difference
Clean Sheets
Clean Sheet %
Goals per Game
Conceded per Game
Goal Ratio
87
68
19
13
27%
1.67
1.31
1.27

Runs

Longest winning run
Longest League winning run
Longest unbeaten run
Games without a win
Longest losing run
10
10
12
6
2

 2018-19 Transfers

1 July 2018 - 30 June 2019

In

Player
Number
Position
Joined
Age
From
Fee
Mamadou Dialla Sylla
Player #963
Midfielder
Friday, 30 November 2018
UE Canovelles
Free
Callum Rowe
Player #961
Left Back
Sunday, 1 July 2018
Youth Team
Free
Jake Walker
Player #960
Right Back
Sunday, 1 July 2018
Youth Team
Free
Dominic Revan
Player #956
Centre Back
Sunday, 1 July 2018
Youth Team
Free
Ákos Ónodi
Player #955
Goalkeeper
Thursday, 9 August 2018
ETO FC Győr
Free
Cameron Archer
Player #944
Centre Forward
Sunday, 1 July 2018
Youth Team
Free
Frédéric Guilbert
Player #940
Right Back
Thursday, 31 January 2019
SM Caen
£4,500,000
Tyrone Mings
Player #932
Centre Back
Thursday, 31 January 2019, Monday, 8 July 2019
AFC Bournemouth
Loan, £20,600,000
Tom Carroll
Player #931
Midfielder
Thursday, 31 January 2019
Swansea City
Loan
Kortney Hause
Player #930
Centre Back
Monday, 7 January 2019, Monday, 1 July 2019
Wolverhampton Wanderers
Loan, £2,700,000
Lovre Kalinić
Player #929
Goalkeeper
Tuesday, 1 January 2019
KAA Gent
£5,400,000
Tammy Abraham
Player #928
Centre Forward
Friday, 31 August 2018
Chelsea
Loan
Yannick Bolasie
Player #927
Winger
Saturday, 25 August 2018
Everton
Loan
Anwar El-Ghazi
Player #926
Winger
Wednesday, 22 August 2018, Monday, 1 July 2019
LOSC Lille
Loan, £8,100,000
André Moreira
Player #925
Goalkeeper
Wednesday, 1 August 2018
Atlético Madrid
Loan
John McGinn
Player #924
Midfielder
Wednesday, 8 August 2018
Hibernian FC
£2,790,000
Ørjan Nyland
Player #923
Goalkeeper
Tuesday, 7 August 2018
FC Ingolstadt
£2,700,000
Jaden Philogene-Bidace
Player #973
Winger
Sunday, 1 July 2018
Youth Team
Free

Out

Player
Number
Position
Left
Age
Sold To
Sold Fee
Alan Hutton
Player #843
Right Back
Sunday, 30 June 2019
Retired
Released
Gary Gardner
Player #841
Midfielder
Sunday, 30 June 2019
Birmingham City
Exchange
Corey Blackett-Taylor
Player #910
Winger
Sunday, 30 June 2019
Tranmere Rovers
Free
Ritchie De Laet
Player #899
Right Back
Sunday, 30 June 2019
Royal Antwerp FC
Free
Mile Jedinak
Player #898
Midfielder
Sunday, 30 June 2019
Unattached
Released
Ross McCormack
Player #896
Forward
Sunday, 30 June 2019
Unattached
Released
Tommy Elphick
Player #894
Centre Back
Sunday, 30 June 2019
Huddersfield Town
Free
Jordan Lyden
Player #890
Midfielder
Sunday, 17 March 2019
Unattached
Released
Mark Bunn
Player #887
Goalkeeper
Sunday, 30 June 2019
Unattached
Released
Tom Carroll
Player #931
Midfielder
Thursday, 4 April 2019
Swansea City
End of Loan
Tammy Abraham
Player #928
Centre Forward
Friday, 31 May 2019
Chelsea
End of Loan
Yannick Bolasie
Player #927
Winger
Monday, 21 January 2019
Everton
End of Loan
André Moreira
Player #925
Goalkeeper
Tuesday, 22 January 2019
Atlético Madrid
End of Loan
Axel Tuanzebe
Player #921
Centre Back
Thursday, 31 May 2018, Friday, 31 May 2019
Manchester United
End of Loan
Jake Doyle-Hayes
Player #918
Midfielder
Sunday, 30 June 2019
Unattached
Released
Harry McKirdy
Unused Substitute
Forward
Sunday, 30 June 2019
Carlisle United
Free
Jordan Cox
Unused Substitute
Midfielder
Sunday, 30 June 2019
Unattached
Released

 2018-19 Squad Changes

Debut Appearances

Player
Number
Against
On
Aged
Ørjan Nyland
Player #923
Wigan Athletic (h), Championship
Saturday, 11 August 2018
John McGinn
Player #924
Wigan Athletic (h), Championship
Saturday, 11 August 2018
André Moreira
Player #925
Yeovil Town (a), EFL Cup
Tuesday, 14 August 2018
Anwar El-Ghazi
Player #926
Reading (h), Championship
Saturday, 25 August 201
Yannick Bolasie
Player #927
Blackburn Rovers (a), Championship
Saturday, 15 September 2018
Tammy Abraham
Player #928
Blackburn Rovers (a), Championship
Saturday, 15 September 2018
Lovre Kalinić
Player #929
Swansea City (h), FA Cup
Saturday, 5 January 2019
Kortney Hause
Player #930
Wigan Athletic (a), Championship
Saturday, 12 January 2019
Tom Carroll
Player #931
Reading (a), Championship